Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

I’ll share my lunch.. October 8, 2008

Filed under: Lunch,Vegan — niftymom @ 6:52 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

..recipe with you! Last night’s dinner was um..eh…disgusting, none of us liked it. So out came a veggie burger and edame beans for Punkyroo and Hubby ended up having something, I can’t remember and I had cereal. I know not the best meal but we decided to stop getting any frozen meals a while ago. Which at one time consisting of either a bag of ravioli, pizza or lasanga a week in case something was yucky with new recipes or I was unable for some reason to cook. Luckily for Punkyroo all her meals where healthy since we never gave her any fast food but every great once and a while she got a slim slice of frozen pizza. Isn’t it funny the stuff us parents will eat but not allow for our children to? I know not all but some do. It’s like “hey you can’t have this food it’s not good for you” but once they aren’t there cookies go down in a blink of an eye.  Ok I’m off topic again so here is the recipe for lunch PUnkyroo and I had yesterday…

ESTA(eggplant, spinach,tomato, avacodo) club sandwich

  • 2 slices of bread
  • Preferred amount of Vegan mayo and Mustard
  • 1 slice of vegan cheese
  • 2 thin slices of avacodo
  • 2 thin slices of tomato
  • 2 thin slices of pan-grilled eggplant
  • 1/4 cup spinach

*first of all, for the eggplant get a small eggplant and thinly slice it. Sprinkle both sides with a little bit of salt, pepper and paprika. Toss in a skillet on medium heat until lightly brown and flip over until cooked through. Set aside done eggplant slices.

Meanwhile your eggplant is cooking you can start making your sandwich. Take your 2 slices of bread and add your mayo and mustard as you please; I put mayo on bottom and mustard on top. THen place your cheese on the bottom slice, then add your eggplant, spinach, tomato and avacodo. Voila!

This was just what was in the fridge at the time and it turned out good. It passed Punkyroo’s approval so that works for me, and I actually ended up making myself a second sandwich!!

 

Leave a Reply

