Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Monkey Bites October 10, 2008

It’s Monkey Bite time!!! Punkyroo LOVES these. They are so healthy and yummy, what more can a parent ask for in a snack?  I originally found these in a Family Fun magazine (that were titled Energy Balls) and I thought I’d give them a try and they were a complete hit with the family and they make a ton in just 20 minutes, less if you have more hands to help you roll!! Today I decided to let Punkyroo help me make them since Hubby was still at work. Of course as you can imagine she ate more than made but it was a blast. I think she actually made about 7 or so, unique shaped monkey bites! When I transfered the Monkey Bites into a container I forgot some of the ones Punkyroo made and so the next morning I woke up to a shock since I forgot about them…take a look at the pict closely, I turned to Hubby and said “oh my gosh..{cracking up} look at those…they look like poop”! I know not the best thing to say when sharing a recipe but it’s something that doesn’t phase me since having a baby. I felt like I was in elementary school, I was just cracking up for minutes over her unique yet oddly shaped snacks. Well I hope I didn’t change your mind on try this out..Lol!

 

Monkey Bites

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • crushed walnuts (or other preferred crushed nuts, shred coconut, etc)

Mash the banana, then stir in the peanut butter until blended. Then fold in the wheat germ. Form nickle size balls and roll them in the crushed walnuts. You can eat them right away or put them in a container in the fridge. * 2 parents and 1 two year old these don’t last more than 2 days in our house!

 

Leave a Reply

