Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

OOOHhhh so good chili October 15, 2008

Filed under: Soup,Vegan — niftymom @ 6:45 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I found this recipe from Taste of Home Healthy Cooking magazine but I changed some things. But this is oh my, so gooood! Plus it gets the thumbs up from Hubby and Punkyroo (she actually ate 2 bowls of it!). Even with it being hot and muggy here I don’t care this hot creamy chili is just too good. I wish I have a better picture for this but I had a meeting to go to so I couldn’t sit and eat with the family and by the time I got back I inhaled the chili and while I was putting it away I remembered.

Creamy Chili

  • 1 cup bulgur
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 medium green pepper, chopped
  • 29oz vegetable broth
  • 1 can (16oz) kidney beans, rinsed and drained – I used black beans this time because I was out of kidneys, it was still good but I prefer the kidney beans.
  • 1 can (14 1/2 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can (8oz) tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbs chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/8 tsp ground red pepper
  • 1/2 cup soy milk

Place bulgur in a small bowl; stir in boiling water. cover and let stand for 30 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed.

In a large pot saute the onion and green pepper over medium heat with a little bit of oil until slightly tender. Stir in the broth, beans, tomatoes, tomato sauce, water, seasonings and soy milk.

Drain bulgur; stir into chili and bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 1 hour. * top with some vegan shredded cheese, you can also serve with a side of tortilla chips. YUMM!

 

Leave a Reply

