Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

What is Chicken Fried Steak? October 17, 2008

The Liberal Vegan posted her recipe for a Vegan version of Chicken Fried Steak,  http://theliberalvegan.wordpress.com/index.php?s=chicken+fried+steak . I havn’t had Chicken Fried Steak in years and it sounded sooo good to be able to make it Vegan. This got a thumbs up from Punkyroo and Hubby. I did alter the gravy recipe due to not making it out to get Richs Cream Rich so I used Soy Milk instead and it turned out really good, I did have to end up adding little extra flour to thicken it up a bit. But this was sooooo good that it made it to Hubby’s “make again” list! The even better thing is that with how much cutlets the recipe made and being the 3 of us, it was 3 nights of dinner! I made this with baked potatoes and fresh grean beans boiled.

But my question still lingers, why in the world was this dish named Chicken Fried Steak? I understand the Chicken part (in the orignial version) but huh? With Punkyroo I knew it’d be confusing so for know we jsut called it “dinner” or “food” ,haha! This ended up one of those stupid-silly debates/conversations with Hubby and I, we got alot of laughs in though.

 

Leave a Reply

