Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Sushi, did someone say sushi?? October 18, 2008

YAY!! Sushi! So I was a HUGE sushi eater before I went vegan. But times have changed and now my selection of sushi is slimed and not to mention with this economy just thinking of paying $5 for a roll of veggie sushi…yah I don’t think so. So though my random search through other Vegan Blogs I ended up at Post Punk Kitchen watching her first video on sushi! LIGHT BULB! I make rice stir fry and I’ll make a sloppy handroll with some nori sheets but not the short grain, rice vinegar stuff in the middle sushi. So to market to market to buy some short rice (and a sushi mat), well luck didn’t have it I couldn’t find a mat but I got the rice. I remember 1x having a homemade sushi night with my mom previously years ago and If I recall correctly it ended up a HUGE mess and handrolls. So with having a 2 year old with a growth spurt which is making her “hungry” every other minute and extremely impatient I tried to do these as fast as I could. I ended up making all the sushi you see (after the rice cooked and veggies prepped) about 10minutes! Not bad. I loved it but PUnkyroo was having slight trouble on the “nori on the outside” ones but she liked the handrolls and the “rice on the outside” ones. At the end her highchair tray was covered in rice and 25/75 soy sauce and water on the table and a small piece of avocado in her hair.

 

 

Cucumber, Avocado, Carrot and “cream cheese” sushi

* I’d suggest watching the Post Punk Kitchen video first to see how to roll ( I used wax paper since I couldn’t find a sushi mat, it worked good)

  • 1 cup short gain rice
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbs rice vinegar
  • 1 small/medium cucumber, peeled and sliced
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and sliced
  • 2 oz vegan cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 tsp wasabi
  • 1/4 tsp water
  • Nori sheets ( I had the handroll ones and it still worked for the normal ones)

I am having a hard time wording how to make these so I suggest watching the video I mentioned. These are very yummy though.

 

Leave a Reply

