Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Tis the time for Pumpkins October 26, 2008

So I’ve been MIA with Vegan Mofo lately so I figured I’d make up for lost time and add some of the recipes I’ve failed to add over the days..

I don’t know about you but I LOVE pumpkin, maybe it’s the relaxing state from the smell of a fresh baked pumpkin pie or just the memories of it always being around when the family got together at big meals. This year I figured “ok get off your bum and make some pumpkin puree and no cans” what I found hard last year while running around to make a thanksgiving dinner (pre-vegan) was pumpkin puree that didn’t have anything else added in with it, I was suprised. So the task to figure out how to bake a pie for cooking was stirring in my head. Well I forgot to look up the way to cook them and figured if I bought one than I’d have to look up instructions before it went to waste and VOILA! the baking pumpkins had directional stickers on them! If only veggies I don’t know much about had that. So off to baking pumpkins I go…

And with the Vegan with a Vengeance in my grasp “the Best PUmkpkin Muffins” I come. These were soooooo good. I did alter them to make them less sugar filled since we don’t give Punkyroo any sweets, what’s the point when she loves fruit and smoothies so much.  So you can check out the book and get the original recipe but here is my version. Don’t be put off by my attempt for low-sugar these are really good and everyone gobbled these down! 12 muffins were gone in 24 hours by just 3 people!

Nifty Mom’s Pumpkin Muffins

  • 1 3/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 1/2 cups plain silk
  • 1 snack bowl of Earths Best organic applesauce
  • 1 tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 tbs molasses

Preheat over to 400*. Lightly grease a 12 muffin tin. Sift together flour, sugar, bakin powder, salt and spices. In a seperate bowl mix together the pumpkin, silk, applesauce, oil and molasses. Pour the wet ingredients in the dry and mix well.

Fill the muffin cups 2/3 cull. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

* PUnkyroo loves raw cranberries so I cut a few in half and put a half a cranberry on the top of a couple muffins and a raisin in a couple more. I was curious to see how they turned out but the sweet muffin with the tart cranberry turned out nice. Plus I wansn’t sure if the cranberry would still be hard but it was soft. But they all turned out great.

 

One Response to “Tis the time for Pumpkins”

  1. roo Says:

    These look so yummy!


Leave a Reply

