Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Warm food time October 28, 2008

Filed under: Soup,Vegan — niftymom @ 1:37 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

If you’ve read alot of my recipes you’ll notice I’m a person that really likes the everything together dish. It’s just nice not having to create a choas of mess in the kitchen (well more so) with pots, bowls and utensils. So when I can limit it down when given the choice that OH YEAH I’ll take it.    Well I love the idea of soups and I like the taste of them but I’ve never really tried to tackle it that much until recently. Potatoe Asparagus, minestone, lentil, chili and soon to be a carrot soup. Especially being vegan now and trying to add more beans and the soup is the best way I’ve found to get my family to eat them.

With it finally getting cool out down here in the panhandle state….67*F, plus trying to find some warm hearty easy food to make on vacation, I whiped up some Lentil soup. So here is last night’s dinner (I misread the 1package of lentils for 1 cup so it will be thicker than this, but it was still yummy). I altered this recipe from Taste Of Home Healthy Cooking magazine.

Lentil Soup

  • 6 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 small bunch of celery with tops cut off, and chopped (about 4 cups)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tbs minced fresh ginger
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 5 cups water
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 package (16oz) dry lentils
  • 3 small russet potatoes
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tbs minced fresh parsley(it called for cilantro but I am growing parsley so I used that instead)

In a large pot, saute the carrots, celery and onion in oil until tender. Add the ginger, curry garlic and cumin, cook and stir for about a minute.

Add the water, broth, lentils, potatoes and pepper; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 45 minutes. Stir in the parsley and serve.

I gave Punkyroo some sesame crackers to dunk in the soup while letting it cool off.

 

Leave a Reply

