Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Avocado Brushetta November 22, 2008

YUMMMM is the best I can come up with to describe this very good appetizer. I found this in Vegetarian Times or Healthy Cooking magazine ( I can’t remember). But it is just sooo good, with the lemon and cilantro and chunck of avocado I try to make dishes that would be good with this just so I can make it! Hubby and I eat it like no tommorow but Punkyroo is on and off about it. But if anyone would like the recipe I can add it on here since I can’t remember what magazine I got it from.

Avocado Brushetta

Avocado Brushetta

Oky doky here is the recipe…

  • 2 tbs lemon juice
  • 2 tbs red wine vinegar
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (dried is fine too)
  • 2 avocados, peeled, pitted, and cubed
  • 1 loaf of whole-grain or ciabatta bread toasted (I use french bread and untoasted) sliced in 1/2 inch thick slices

Combine lemon juice, vinegar, garlic, salt, red pepper flakes, oregano, and black pepper in small bowl. Whisk in oil, then stir in cilantro and parsley. Fold in avocado cubes. Spoon avocado mix onto toast slices and serve.

 

One Response to “Avocado Brushetta”

  1. roo Says:

    Avocados AND cilantro! My faviorates!!! This sounds really good. Recipe Please! =)


Leave a Reply

