Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Vegan Spinach Stuffed Shells November 23, 2008

So one of my “hit” dishes to make when people came over and a constant plea to make for dinner was my Spinach Stuffed Shells. Of course pre-vegan these were mixed with ricotta cheese and parm cheese and egg. So in desperation to not hear grumbly moans and disgusted looks from Hubby for another night I reached to re-invent my “famous” dish. What do you know it worked Hubby LOVED it and says it’s a make again. He was extremely excited when I told him what I was making and that quickly changed to disapoinment when I told him I was concockting my own filling to make it vegan. But I pulled it off with a little bit of this and that and cooking directions from this and sauce from that I was able to please everyone in my house for dinner!

Vegan Spinach Stuffed Shells

I do have to say I’m so thrilled to say we bought a new blender, we couldn’t go any longer without one so I can get back to hummus, smoothie, soup makin!! Yay!

I can add the recipe later if anyone is interested, just let me know. I just have to sit down and remember what all I put in and what I did and write it in my Cookbook Journal! But here are some picts of my yummy dish! I do have to say there is one suprising ingredient you might not have heard put in stuffed shells, well atleast none that I’ve heard of.

Vegan Spinach Stuffed Shells

So I finally sat down and put together what and how I made this…

  • 1 box Jumbo shell noodles, cooked and drained
  • 1 1/2-2 cups Marinara sauce
  • 2 eggs worth of No Egg egg replacer
  • 1 tbs plain Silk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 10 oz package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry (you can always add more spinach if you’d like it more spinachy, I’d say up to 2 packages of 10oz)
  • 3/4 cup bread crumbs (1 slice whole wheat bread heavily toasted and blended to crumbs)
  • 1 small-medium onion, grated and slightly squeezed
  • 1 avocado, pureed or mashed if you are unable to puree
  • * if you’d like to have have the cheese tast in there add 1/4 cup vegan shredded cheese, but it’s good with or without.

Preheat oven to 350*. In a small bowl, whisk the egg replacer mix, silk and salt. Stire in the spinach, bread crumbs, (add cheese here if you want it), onion and avocado.

In a 9x13in baking dish spread just enough marinara to slightly cover the bottom of the pan. Start stuff the noodles with about 1 tbs of spinach filling and arrange in dish until the pan is full. (I usually leave out the rest of the noodles for us to munch on while I’m cooking to keep from any melt down tantrums from Punkyroo…and sometimes Hubby πŸ˜€ ).

Once the pan is full place a spoonful of marinar on top of each shell and then spread to coat the top of all the shells, if you like alot of sauce then you’ll need more marinara and then you just pour the jar over all the shells. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.

 

4 Responses to “Vegan Spinach Stuffed Shells”

  1. Erin Says:

    That looks amazing! I’d love the recipe. πŸ™‚

  2. city chick Says:

    I would like the recipe too! One of my favorite meals is a stuffed shell recipe and I’d like a vegan version of the filling.
    Looks like it was fantastic!

  3. helloveggie Says:

    Looks great! I bought some jumbo shells about 3 weeks ago and somehow they’ve been neglected! I need to get on that asap!

  4. Karitza Says:

    I made some today! They were awesome. I stuffed the pasta shells with a vegan ricotta-like cheese made with tofu, spices and stuff and spinach and broccoli. My mom loved the results, and me too haha. This ones looks good too! yum! I love spinach and avocado =P Take a look at them if u want<3

    thanks =]


Leave a Reply

