Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Making your period green? November 24, 2008

Filed under: Mom Stuff — niftymom @ 8:35 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ok if you are a guy you might just want to skip this post…

So if you are like many you have been making eco-friendly changes in your habits and things or you are planning on it. Well we all know the main this thrown at us from reusable grocery bags, light bulbs, water bottles and such but what about that dreadful time of the month. Yep making your period green!

Since I got prego with Punkyroo in Sept 2005 I didn’t have my period until Sept DivaCup storage bag and DivaCup2008! From pregnancy to nursing and then nursing and having the Mirena put in I was loving the free and carefree ways of not worring that I might leak. But when I had my Mirena taken out things went back to normal and I had to think about my period again, drats!!

As I was looking through the Frontier Co-op catalog I saw a thing called The DivaCup. Somehow this weird looking funnel cup thingy was for my period. How? I did not know. SO looking around I found it’s site and was reading. This thing is used for 1 year and creates wastes a split of a hair that of disposables! Yes it may seem pricey up front but just like cloth diapers it saves alot of money in the end. I calculated mine out and it was in the hundred range!! On average it estimates 100-$200 in savings for the average person. So combine that with the amount of waste you save and not to mention all the chemicals in and used to make the disposables I decided to get the DivaCup. I had also seen reusable pads and such but I’m going to give the DivaCup a try first since I was never a fan on pads.

Well I got my order in and a few DivaCup and DivaWashdays ago I finally got the chance to try out the DivaCup….and after a few days of getting used to inserting,cleaning and just the feeling I have to say I will not use disposables again! I do have to say it’s different at first but after some practice inserting is alot easier. Also the DivaWash (sold serperatly) smells soooo wonderful!! I recommend using the DivaWash with it, you only need a tiny tiny amount and you only need to wash the cup 2x a day. I think the funniest thing is that Hubby was so curious-grossed out about the idea of the cup atfirst. He asked so many questions when I told him about it as if he was going to be using it!LOL! But I really suggest these to anyone.

 

Leave a Reply

