Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

Tofu Egg(less)rolls January 2, 2009

When I was prego with Punkyroo I had a cravings for Chinese food, the problem is Hubby hates chinese food beyond eggrolls and steamed rice and since he’d be hungry too I just picked another place we both could eat ate.  Well I finally came apon how to make eggrolls and YUM YUM they are sooo good and Hubby loves them too. Well when we went vegetarian I had to find a substitue for the ground chicken in it. At first I tried the ground vegan sausage crumbles but Hubby didn’t like the texture and so I finally tried the Tofu and it worked great. At that time I didn’t know you are suposed to press the tofu and then cook so when I made tofu the first time in a dinner it was disgusting and so I was afraid to try it again but after I learned how to properly prep tofu I tried it in these and it worked!! YAY I can keep my eggrolls. But then when we went Vegan (or should I say Punkyroo and I went vegan since Hubby is vegetarian) I found out my eggroll wraps I was using had egg in them.. I always wondered why they where called eggrolls when they didn’t have egg in them. So after all the ones in the stores having egg I finally found an Asian store and found some without egg! Yay! So sorry to say that you may need to do some searching for the wraps unless you can make them or have already made vegan eggrolls before.

 

Tofu Egg(less)rolls

 

Tofu Egg(less)rolls-Punkyroo's dish

 

Tofu Egg(less)rolls

  • 1 pck of Extra Firm Tofu (16oz)
  • 1 Tbs grated ginger (you could mince it if you are unable to grate)
  • 1 medium cabbage head (green),finely chopped
  • 10 oz bean sprouts
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 5 green onions, chopped
  • 30-40 eggroll wrappers (It depends on how much you stuff them, sometimes I have 30 and other times I have as much as 40, due to this I usually buy 2 packages of wraps just in case)

Stir fry the tofu and ginger in a skillet on high heat until lightly browned. Add the cabbage, brean sprouts, carrot and green onions;cook for 2 minutes. (if you’d like your filling with some slight seasoning you can add 2-3 tbs of tamari now). Take the skillet off the heat and let cool down. Use 2 tbs of the filling for each egg roll (I usually make some smaller for Punkyroo).

Follow the directions to fold the wraps on the package (if it doesn’t place the wrap on a dry surface with a corner pointing at you, place the filling in the middle, Fold the corner facing you over the filling snuggly, Fold both side corners snugly against the filling, wet the last corner with a little bit of water and roll to seal the last corner, lay flap side down until ready to cook to prevent unrolling itself).

Take a large skillet, wok, or other device to fry your eggrolls in. Fill with oil enough so each roll would be half deep. I usually set my burner on notch 7 since it’s not too too hot to pop oil every second but enough to brown each side quickly. Add a few rolls at a time and cook until golden brown usually around 2-3 minutes; flip on other side and repeat. Place on a paper towel lined plate and let cool.

If you are looking for a baked version, Sorry I havn’t looked into how to bake them yet. I’d love to learn how to to get away fromt the oil. So if anyone knows the directions to bake eggrolls please let me know!!

And since this is a rare dish to make in our house since the oil fried-ness and all here is a dip that is sooooo yummy but its only used for these.

  • Vegan mayo
  • Brown spicy mustard

Add amount of mayo you think is enough to serve with amount of rolls you will serve. Than add mustard and keep adding until desired taste is reached. I always eyeball and taste test it so I can’t give measurements but  Hubby LOVES it. Usually I make around 3-4 rolls for each of us, well 1-2 for Punkyroo; so I usually do 3 big spoon fulls of mayo and around 3 tbs looking like squirts of mustard and go from there, any left over I just cover and serve with the next nights batch of rolls.

 

3 Responses to “Tofu Egg(less)rolls”

  1. helloveggie Says:

    This looks awesome! I want to try baking them! I’m not sure if there’s an Asian store in my neighborhood or not, I doubt Whole Foods carries eggless wraps…

  2. roo Says:

    So yummy!!! I love egg rolls!

    Have you tried using spring roll wrappers? Most are vegan and are lots of fun to use. Plus you can stuff them with all kinds of stuff. I like making banana lumpias. So good! You should pick some up =)

  3. niftymom Says:

    I do use spring rolls (see my plantian eggrolls,yummm) but for the filling of these it’s just alright, I prefer the crunch with these.

    Also anyone looking for spring roll wraps, check your Asian market too. I havn’te found these at any store even health food stores..only Asian grocery stores.


Leave a Reply

