Nifty Mom

Vegan, Eco-conscious, Natural Parenting, Unschooling Wife and Mom

New children’s vegan book!! June 22, 2009

I’ve looked around for vegan and vegetarian books for Punkyroo before and tried a couple and  have found dissapointing. But one day looking for a new recipe to try out I saw a post about a new children’s book but talking about WHY we don’t eat animals like the vast population. It’s called That’s Why We Don’t Eat Animals: A Book ABout Vegans, Vegetarians, and All Living Things by Ruby Roth.  I checked it out and watched the youtube video about it and decided to order it. Since it was on pre-order at the time when I ordered it I had to wait atleast a month to get it! I was so anxious to get it and hope that Punkyroo liked it.

Finally it came in!!! I LOVE this book. the illustrations (also by Ruby Roth) are so cute and wonderfully written. Punkryoo likes it too. She’s known we are vegan and if you ask her why she would say “we are vegan because we want the animals to be happy”, that’s a pretty good way to put it to a 2 year old at the time and she says it’s with such joy. But  with this book it describes it a bit more without going into too much detail. She understands and actually asks all the time while shopping, cooking or making snacks.. “is that have no (insert animal/animal byproduct) so we can eat it? we are vegan we don’t eat that”, it’s nice to know she understands and questions about food.  

When we go grocery shopping she sees the lobsters in the tank and asks to see them, which I don’t like but made it into a teaching about us being vegan. We tell her that they are in there because some people eat them but they belong out in the ocean. She still always wants to see them and says “they belong in the ocean” with a sad face. Well last time we went they didn’t have any in the tank , which we didn’t notice until Punkyroo’s face lit up and shouted “there’s no lobsters!! they’re in the ocean!!” it was so hilarious and so cute.

Off track but back to the book… The book was wonderful and anyone vegan or vegetarian and has children really should get this book, I really recommend it!!

 

4 Responses to “New children’s vegan book!!”

  1. allieksmith Says:

    That’s awesome they make books like that now a days!

  2. that seems like such a cute book!

  3. Katherine: Unemployed Says:

    what a fun book! I need it for my own self

  4. A Tablespoon of Liz Says:

    I love how they’re making books that cover this topic.. I don’t have kids, but ever since I stopped eating animals/most animal products, I wondered how if the day ever came when I did have kids, how I would explain it to them in a way that wouldn’t horrify them.


Leave a Reply

